Jokes – freshness guaranteed

January 15, 2010

Teaching mathematics can be fun


(Friday, 18 August 2006)

Teaching mathematics can be fun. I was teaching addition to my elder son, then four years old.  “Suppose I have two oranges and you give me three more, how many do I have?”

(After fumbling some fingers) “Five”

“Suppose I have five apples and you give me two more, how many do I have?”

(After fumbling some fingers) “Seven”

Now I thought I should confuse the kid. “Suppose I have two apples and one orange and you give me one apple and one orange, how many do I have?”

(After a confused look followed by a smile and some fumbling fingers) “three apples and two oranges and I know you want me to go out and play!”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

