Jokes – freshness guaranteed

July 3, 2013

Chitragupta audits me

Filed under: Indian politics and economy,Stories and mythology — pramath @ 3:08 PM

I died last night and went to the office Yama.

As per ever Chitragupta, the accountant of Karma was irritated and was kind of bored.

My turn came.

“Sit down.” He told me with eyes from across eyeglasses. He opened up my page on his laptop and then pushed a button to project his view on a screen.

There was ZERO balance of good karmas!

“Sir, there seems to be something wrong!” I tried to be as meek as possible.

“What’s wrong?”

“Where is all the kindness that I showed my parents, wife, children, neighbors, colleagues, countrymen, strangers, pets, even enemies, mother-in-law, …”

He didn’t let me finish. With a bone dry voice typical to auditors, he replied: “Did not you receive kindness from them?”

“Yes, but…”

“That reception was your income. The kindness you showed to them was income tax. Null balance! You are going back to the birth and death cycle. Next soul please!”

“But that is how even our Income Tax department behaved. Isn’t there some mercy up here?”

Chitragupta took a deep breath. Probably for 500th time in the day he might have answered that question. He said: “Unlike on earth, you didn’t have to fill in the income tax return here, did you?”

I was given a solid push by a Yamadoota.

My woke up from sleep.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

